Welcome to PAPDS : Driving Schools in PA
The Pennsylvania Association of Professional Driving Schools has been representing the interests of driving schools in Pennsylvania Since 1959.
PAPDS has developed a good working relationship with the Pennyslvania Department of Tranportation (PennDOT) and other state offices to ensure the positive developement of professional driver training across the state of Pennsylvania.
Membership to PAPDS is open to driving schools and other professionals interested in driver training in Pennsylvania.
CHANGES IN PA LAW FOR TEEN DRIVERS
On September 28, 2011, the legislature passed updated rules for drivers under age 18. It will take effect on November 28, 2011 Here is a synopsis.
PRACTICE DRIVING WITH A PERMIT
- You must hold your permit for at least 6 months or until you reach age 18 (no change).
- You must have 65 hours of practice driving (increased from 50) before appearing for a license. At least 10 hours must be at night and at least 5 hours must be during inclement weather, such as rain, snow, etc. (Current rules have no requirements for night or weather.)
RESTRICTIONS FOR NEWLY-LICENSED DRIVERS UNDER AGE 18
- Only ONE passenger under 18 (other than a family member) is permitted in the vehicle. If you drive 6 months without tickets or crashes, this restriction is increased to THREE passengers, other than family members.
- Not wearing a seat belt is now a PRIMARY offense for both the driver and passengers. The police may stop you for this alone. In the past, this was a secondary offense: you had to be stopped for something else plus this.
Teen Driver Safety Seminar
Friday, October 14, 2011
Holiday Inn, New Cumberland, PA